top of page

The Methodist Church in the Caribbean and the Americas

The 8 Districts of the MCCA

  1. Bahamas Turks and Caicos Islands District

  2. Belize/Honduras District

  3. Guyana District

  4. Haiti District

  5. Jamaica District

  6. Leeward Islands District

  7. Panama/Costa Rica District

  8. South Caribbean District

The MCCA was legally established in 1967 by a Deed of Church Order as an autonomous body of Christian believers. Its headquarters are located in Antigua, where Methodism first began in the Caribbean.


The Deed of Church Order sets out the Church’s:

  • Doctrinal Standards

  • Constitution and Discipline

  • Membership and Ministry

  • Holding and Management of Property and Funds

  • Appointment and Functions of officers, committees, etc

  • Standing Orders to regulate its affairs


The Connexional Conference

The Connexional Conference is the governing body of the MCCA with full legislative powers. It is made up of 22 ministerial representatives and 22 lay representatives from the 8 Districts of the Connexion. The Connexional Conference has no administrative authority over the District Conferences who regulate their own affairs within the District as mandated by the constitution.The Conference meets once every three years and is administered by a Connexional President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer.


The Connexional Council

The Connexional Council is the Executive Body of the Connexional Conference and administers the affairs of the Conference between its triennial meetings. The Council meets twice per year. It comprises of the 4 Connexional Officers (President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer), 8 District Presidents, 8 District Lay Representatives, the immediate past Vice-President, and the Secretary of the Commission on Ministry.


The District Conference


The District Conference is the governing body of the District and is made up of all Presbyters and Deacons in the District, all Circuit Stewards and equal numbers of Lay Representatives from each Circuit to match the number of Presbyters. The Conference is divided into two parts: a Ministerial Session attended only by Presbyters and Deacons, and a Representative Session attended by both Ministerial and Lay Representatives. With the option to meet triennially, the District Conference can meet every year or every three years and is administered by a District President, Secretary and Treasurer.


The Standing Committees


The Standing Committees of the District Conference provide reports to the Representative Session of the Conference on the work of Circuit and District organizations, groups and committees over the previous year and highlight recommendations from the subcommittees. They are:

  • The General Purposes Committee

The General Purposes Committee is the Executive Body of the District Conference and administers the affairs of the Conference in between annual meetings.

  • The Resources and Development Committee

The Resources and Development Committee reports to and advises the Conference on financial, budgetary, property and investment matters.

  • The Mission Evangelism and Church Growth Committee

The Mission Evangelism and Church Growth Committee reports to and advises the conference on membership, arrangement of Circuits, chaplaincies, evangelism, Christian social witness, stewardship, faith and order, ecumenical relations, preachers’ affairs, family life, health care etc.

  • The Christian Education Committee

The Christian Education Committee reports to and advises the Conference on the work among children, youth, young adults, men, women, in church school, groups and organizations. This Committee also reports on Training of Class Leaders, Communication and Information.

  • The General Education Committee

The General Education Committee reports on various issues in Methodist schools including chaplaincies, Boards of Management, religious education, curricula, discipline, finance, property etc. In addition to the Standing Committees there are other committees such as the Nominations Committee, the Stationing Committee and the Ministerial Training Committee.

The Circuit


Each District is divided into Circuits.  The Circuit Meeting is the governing body of the Circuit and meets once per year for “fellowship, education, consultation, information and inspiration.” Each Circuit is under the general oversight of a Superintendent Presbyter. The Circuit Steward is the chief Lay Executive Officer and Treasurer of the Circuit funds. The Circuit Meeting receives reports and discusses the general state of the Work of God in the Circuit.

The Circuit Council is the Executive and coordinating body in the Circuit. It exercises general oversight of the spiritual, numerical and financial condition of the Congregations in the Circuit and all organizations and institutions connected with them. It meets at least twice per year.


The Congregation


The Circuit is further divided into Congregations.  The Congregational Meeting is a meeting of all the confirmed members of the congregation and is held at least once per year. It receives reports, elects representatives, and appoints Stewards, Class Leaders and other Officers.

The Congregational Council is the Executive and coordinating body of the Congregation. It meets twice per year, prior to the corresponding Circuit Council meetings. It prepares the Congregation’s annual programme as approved by the Congregational Meeting and Circuit Council.


Connexional Officers


Connexional President – Bishop Everald L. Galbriath

Vice President – Dr. Hubert Morquette

Connexional Secretary – Rev’d. Jacqueline Liddell

Treasurer of Connexional Funds – Sis. Muriel Peggy Smith

bottom of page